The Second Russian Youth Architecture Biennale

12 May – 23 October 2019
Innopolis, Republic of Tatarstan
The Second Russian Youth Architecture Biennale was established to create a gold reserve of architects for the whole of Russia and to provide the young generation with a real opportunity to be noticed and heard in the profession. The founders of the Biennale are the Government of the Republic of Tatarstan and the Ministry of Construction, Housing and Utilities of the Russian Federation, and the organizing committee is the “Institute for the Cities of the Republic of Tatarstan” Foundation. The Agency for Strategic Development CENTER was named the official operator of the competition and the program manager for the Biennale. The winners will be selected and the projects will be presented on October 24–26, 2019 in Innopolis, a city founded for IT specialists in the Republic of Tatarstan.
Participation in the Biennale is open to architects up to 35 years old with higher specialized education, from Russia or with Russian citizenship. Application can be made for both individual projects and projects developed by groups. Application for participation in the Second Biennale is open from May 20 to June 20, and the 30 finalists will be announced at the Moscow Urban Forum, which will be held on July 4–7 in Zaryadye Park. 

This year, the Second Russian Youth Architecture Biennale will include for the first time the organization of a children’s competition program, in which pupils of grades 9 and 10 from all Russian schools with architectural or artistic profiles will be able to take part. Over the summer holidays, participants will have to prepare architectural projects for a secondary educational institution with an architectural or artistic specialization, or, in other words, develop a project for an art school in which they themselves would like to study, and submit their work before September 10. 

Natalia Fishman-Bekmambetovаdirector of the biennale and assistant to the President of the Republic of Tatarstan

The ideological inspiration and creator of the concept of the Biennale is, of course, Sergey Enverovich Choban. We took the initiative and I am very grateful to the Ministry of Construction, Housing and Utilities of the Russian Federation, as well as to my leader, President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Nurgalievich Minnikhanov, that they initiated the competition and do not cease to support it.

Two industrial spaces in the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan, Kazan, were chosen as the objects for the competition task: the territory of the Santekhpribor plant in the Admiralty settlement and the Kazan grain elevator. 
At the end of the competition and the announcement of the results, the works of the participants of the First and Second Biennales will be presented in the Aedes Architecture Forum Gallery in Berlin, a world-famous and independent exhibition space which displays projects of modern architecture and urban design. 
The two best projects for each of the objects will be chosen by an international professional jury chaired by Biennale curator Sergey Choban, head of the architectural bureaus SPEECH (Moscow) and Tchoban Voss Architekten (Berlin). The jury will include world-renowned experts in the field of architecture.


  • Sergey ChobanSergey Chobanhead of the architectural bureaus SPEECH (Moscow) and Tchoban Voss Architekten (Berlin)
  • Michiel RiedijkMichiel RiedijkFounder and Partner of the NEUTELINGS RIEDIJK ARCHITECTS Bureau and Professor at Delft University of Technology (Netherlands)
  • Philip YuanPhilip YuanCo-Chair of the Center for Artificial Environment Technologies at the University of Washington, Director of the Academic Committee of the Shanghai Digital Engineering Technology Center (China)
  • Kristin FeireissKristin Feireisscurator and co-founder of the independent architectural forum AEDES in Berlin, former director of the Netherlands Institute of Architecture (NAi), Pritzker Prize jury member
Three winners of the First Russian Youth Architecture Biennale of 2017 will join the evaluation of the competing projects: the founders of the CITIZENSTUDIO architectural group Mikhail Beylin and Daniil Nikishin (Moscow) (they will share one vote); Nadezhda Koreneva (KRNV, Moscow); and Oleg Manov (FUTURA Architects, Saint-Petersburg).
Subscribe to news